el Charco · home practice · meditation · personal yoga practice · revelation · subtle body · Uncategorized · yoga · yoga in Mexico

Before the new moon temazcal (sweat lodge)

Back in the day, I was involved with a women’s ritual group. We met regularly at each others’ homes over the course of 2-3 years and did some deep work and some delightfully silly work. I have been trying to recall the specifics of our ‘New Moon’ rituals as I prepare for participating today in my second temazcal, a traditional Mexican ‘sweat lodge’. There are three temazcals scheduled this month up at el Charco, the botanical gardens I mention so often, and the temazcal hut itself was built on the grounds of an abandoned hacienda. It is a beautiful, potent place.

temazcal

Planting seeds at the new moon is something gardeners know about, and it follows that would be an element of this particular ritual as well. For today’s event, I came up with the idea of planting ‘seeds of self-knowing’. This transitional time of my life is taking a longer, wider arc than expected, and familiar rest stops and scenic overlooks are not holding the penetrating insights and clear directional signals I was expecting. Crap. So, I am pulling out the big guns. The sisters: Divine Intervention and Serendipity. The road map: Lorin Roche’s translation of the Vijnana Bhairava Tantra. The vehicle: my body and the yogic practices that have sustained and supported, demolished and rebuilt me for over 20 years. Off I go…

Leave a Reply

