Uncategorized

Solstice 2012: Taking a break

The Winter Solstice is upon us. I am looking forward to it. Equinoxes and Solstices are some of my favorite times of the year. They allow me to synchronize my internal weather and landscape with the calendar year.

Now is the time to go dark. It is time for me to follow the impetus  and prodding of dreams and other manners of inspiration. It is time to put down the ‘pen’ and pick up other tools. I packed away my Visual Artist Self a long time ago, and she has become restless, tapping at the top of the box lid and sending me colors and images and ideas and more.

Here is one of my all-time favorite poems. Mr. Berry has one of the smoothest, most gentlemanly voices I have ever heard, with a beautiful Southern lilt. I had the pleasure of speaking to him one day when he called our house to speak with my husband about a book project. I wanted to preserve the phone’s earpiece afterwards, like a big conch shell, so that I could forever hold it up to my ear and hear his kind, cultured voice.

To Know The Dark
by Wendell Berry

To go in the dark with a light is to know the light.
To know the dark, go dark. Go without sight,
and find that the dark, too, blooms and sings,
and is traveled by dark feet and dark wings.

***

See you in the Spring~ Liza

3 thoughts on “Solstice 2012: Taking a break

  1. Miss you girlfriend. How do I reach you on skype?
    Happy Holidays and may 2013 bring you and the extended family love, peace, prosperity, clarity and abundant joy!! Luv u Sara

    Like

Leave a Reply

