home practice · Uncategorized · yoga · yoga in Mexico · yoga retreats · yoga teaching

What moves me

“so come my friends,
be not afraid
we are so lightly here.
it is in love that we are made, 
in love we disappear…”

At class last night, one new student asked me afterwards if I ever used music. My yoga class appropriate music is trapped in my sick laptop. My iPod holds an eclectic mix, so my classes here in Mexico have been sans musical accompaniment, except for what filters in from the street- cars, church bells, cuhetes (bottle rockets), the calls of vendors… I have been enjoying the quiet, muted sounds of people breathing and moving, the earthy sounds of bodies pivoting on toes and heels, of palms planting and the occasional sigh or giggle.

I love practicing asana to music, but what suits me during a solo practice wouldn’t suit many others. I often use a technique I found helpful in the art studio: blast it hard and blast it fast until the brain has done a switcheroo out of the here and now into to vaster place where time is no longer linear. Then turn the music off and follow the path that has presented itself.

Listening to my re-charged iPod tonight, while heading into my second hour of Spanish language homework, a tune came up randomly, between a Jai Uttal chant and a Red Hot Chili Pepper ditty.

“so come my friends,
be not afraid
we are so lightly here.
it is in love that we are made, 
in love we disappear…”

Leonard Cohen singing his ‘Boogie Street’. Who slipped THAT in there? Music to make the spine ripple, the hips sway and undulate; feet want to trace a message across the kitchen floor, arms long to stretch up and out and open wide, heart finds a place of melancholy and longing. But another hour of homework awaits. Hubby wraps me in his arms and we have a twee dance. I think about putting this music on the CD player at tomorrow night’s class, just to see how a little Leonard Cohen affects the bodies in front of me, because if it makes me want to get up and execute ripply, spirally, slidey movements, it might work that way on you, too…

Leave a Reply

